Chiefs U20 set for Crusaders clash

Chiefs Under 20s are in action again this afternoon. Photo. Rosalie Liddle Crawford.

Bay of Plenty’s Kane O’Connor will start at halfback for the University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20 side against their Crusaders counterparts this afternoon.

It is the Chiefs U20’s second game of the Super Rugby Aotearoa Under 20 Tournament in Taupo following a 40-26 win over the Hurricanes on Sunday.

Head coach Paul Hodder has made six changes to his twenty-three including the inclusion of O’Connor as a replacement for Ben Strang, who suffered a concussion in the opening game.

The 3.30pm clash will also see Bay of Plenty lock Hemopo Cunningham promoted to start in jersey number four combining with Taranaki lock Scott Jury, in the only change to the forward pack.

Powerful Bay of Plenty winger Tama Te Aute joins the match-day twenty-three starting on the left wing with Bay of Plenty teammate Niwa Barlow covering on the bench in jersey twenty-three.

Counties Manukau’s Jadin Kingi will provide both lock and loose forward cover in jersey number nineteen to round out the changes.

The game takes place at Owen Delany Park in Taupo and is being broadcast live on Sky Sport.

Chiefs U20 will then finish up the tournament against Barbarians on Saturday at 1pm.

University of Waikato Chiefs Under 20 Team:

1. Josh Bartlett (Bay of Plenty)

2. Bernie Hati (Bay of Plenty)

3. Havila Molia (Waikato)

4. Hemopo Cunningham (Bay of Plenty)

5. Scott Jury (Taranaki)

6. Nikora Broughten (Bay of Plenty)

7. Veveni Lasaqa (Bay of Plenty)

8. Te Rama Reuben (Waikato)

9. Kane O’Connor (Bay of Plenty)

10. Lucas Cashmore (Bay of Plenty)

11. Tama Te Aute (Bay of Plenty)

12. Larenz Tupaea Thompsen (Counties Manukau)

13. Gideon Wrampling (Waikato) ©

14. Tevita Ofa (Counties Manukau)

15. Te Paea Cook Savage (Waikato)


16. Ioane Moananu (Counties Manukau)

17. Mason Tupaea (Waikato)

18. Hakaraia Richards Coxhead (Waikato)

19. Jadin Kingi (Counties Manukau)

20. Fotu Melino (Bay of Plenty)

21. Angus Kay (Bay of Plenty)

22. Josh Jacomb (Taranaki)

23. Niwa Barlow (Taranaki)

Team Management

Head Coach: Paul Hodder (Waikato)

Scrum & Defence: Greg Smith (Waikato)

Forwards & Lineout: Jarrad Hoeata (Taranaki)

Skills: Chad Shepherd (Counties Manukau)

Contact & Analysis: James Porter (Bay of Plenty)

Manager: David Fox (Waikato)

Trainers: Tim Hurst (Waikato) & Scott Joblin (Bay of Plenty)

Physiotherapists: Rachel Lambert (Bay of Plenty) & Lauren MacDonald (Bay of Plenty)

Subscribe to our daily Newsletter


You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now