Councillor aspirant list grows

File Photo.

With two sitting councillors retiring, the bid for seats is turning in to a scramble.

This week, the number of aspirants has increased to 20 for the 10 available seats.

Two vacancies have been created by the retirements of Karen Hunt after four terms and Charles Sturt, after 33 years, who has declared his bowel cancer is terminal.

Several existing councillors have put forward their names this week but others Trevor Maxwell – one of the longest serving councillors in New Zealand – Merepeka Raukawa Tait, Mark Gould and Raj Kumar have not.

All are expected to stand again.

Nominations for the local body triennial elections close at midday on Friday, August 16.

Meanwhile, a sprinkling of new names have appeared in the nominations, including mayoral hopeful Reynold Macpherson, on the councillor list.

Newer faces contesting for the first time are Kevin Coutts, Brendan Davis, Peter Jones, Matthew Martin, Lachlan McKenzie, Linda Rowbotham, Alan Tane Solomon, Shirley Trumper, Fisher Wang, Bam Whare and Mercia Yates appear for the first time.

Trumper’s name also appears on the rural community board.

So far, three aspirants have notified their intention for the four vacant positions, likewise three for the four slots on the rural community board.

To date, only three mayoral candidates – Steve Chadwick, Rob Kent and Reynold Macpherson – have out their names forward.

Though he has signalled he will stand, John Rakei-Clark has so far put his name forward as a councillor.

The latest list is:

Mayor (1): Steve Chadwick, Rob Kent, Reynold Macpherson.

Councillors (10): Peter Bentley, Kevin Coutts, Brendan Davis, Dave Donaldson, Bill Hedges, Trish Hosking, Peter Jones, Sandra Kai Fong, Rob Kent, Reynold Macpherson, Matthew Martin, Lachlan McKenzie, John Rakei-Clark, Linda Rowbotham, Alan Tane Solomon, Tania Tapsell, Shirley Trumper, Fisher Wang, Bam Whare, Mercia Yates.

Rotorua Lakes Community Board (4): Nick Chater, Sandra Goodwin, Phill Thomass.

Rotorua Rural Community Board (4): Rachel Clark, Bryce Heard, Shirley Trumper.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now