Mount Maunganui win cricket’s Williams Cup

The Mount have won the ‘Old Bill’ trophy for the seventh time. File Image. SunLive.

Bond & Co Mount Maunganui have won the Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup after a six wicket win over Element IMF Cadets at the Bay Oval.

Peter Drysdale top scored with an unbeaten 59 and took two wickets as the Mount won the ‘Old Bill' trophy for the seventh time.

Two good-sized crowds of parochial club supporters, decked out in club colours were on the sideline, as Cadets took first use of the wicket.

Cadets lost their first wicket with just 16 runs on the board and were in some trouble at four down for 75 runs. The mire deepened for the Tauranga Domain based side at 6/81, before keeper Taylor Douglas and Mayura Galappththi batting at ten, came together to try and salvage their innings.

Galappththi posted a handy 18 runs, with Douglas the last man to be dismissed with 24 runs in the book, as Cadets were bowled out for a very gettable 142. Long-serving Mount bowlers, Tony Goodin and Dale Swan, both finished their spell with three wicket bags.

Mount Maunganui made their intention clear from the start of their reply, with their first wicket falling at the 46 run mark, when Ben Pomare was bowled for 26. Ben Musgrave kept the pressure on, with opener Peter Drysdale, to reach 31. However the Mount innings belonged to Drysdale, who anchored his sides six wicket victory, with an unbeaten 59 off 89 balls.

'Our keys to success was the overall strength of our team being able to bat right down the order and also having at least seven very good bowlers,” says Mount Maunganui captain Matt Golding.

'Our standout players were every bowler, being asked to bowl first on a flat track. They did very well and it was a whole team effort. Pete anchored the innings and Ben played a match winning knock.

The Mount Maunganui win, added the Williams Cup to their Baywide T20 Championship, and also gave them the Hart Family Trophy Baywide Champion of Champions title for the tenth time.

'It was a great way to finish the season, winning the Williams Cup, which sums up our season and what we have achieved,” says Matt, paying tribute to veteran Mount player Nick Smith who is hanging up his whites.

'It is awesome to send Nick Smith into retirement with a Williams Cup win. He has contributed a lot to the club and we will always grateful for it and there was no better way to send him off than winning the ‘Old Bill'.”

In the Versatile Tauranga Williams Plate Cup final, Flying Mullet Te Puke defeated Holland Becket Law Tauranga Boys College by three wickets at the Te Puke Domain.

Tauranga Boys batted first and were bowled out for 196. Isaac White top scored with 46 with Liam Collett posting 39 not out. Mikare Leef was the best of the home sides bowling attack taking three wickets for 27 runs.

Devon Surrurier was in grand touch, anchoring the Te Puke innings with a 94 runs at a run a ball. Blair McKenzie belted a neat half century with Jamie Oakley chipping in with 32 runs.

Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup Final, Saturday, March 27 2021

Element IMF Cadets 142 (Chris Mascall 24, Taylor Douglas 24, Fergus Lellman 22; Dale Swan 3/20, Tony Goodin 3/33, Peter Drysdale 2/13) lost to Bond & Co Mount Maunganui 145/4 (Peter Drysdale 59no, Ben Musgrave 31, B Pomare 26; Tim Pringle 2/34).

Versatile Tauranga Williams Cup Plate

Holland Beckett Law Tauranga Boys College 196 (Isaac White 46, Liam Collett 39no, Blake Pentecost 26, Charles Williams 25; Mikaere Leef 3/27) lost to Flying Mullet Te Puke 198/7 (Devon Surrurier 94, Blair McKenzie 50, Jamie Oakley 32; Blake Pentecost 3/15, Charles Williams 3/38).

You may also like....


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment.